Painting more European photos: Stone wall with a blue door

 

watercolor door layers

For my first official painting project in quite some time, I chose my usual subject: an architectural photo from my Europe trip. I went for an almost diorama look by layering an old photo mat, my painting of the stone wall, and the painting of the door. This dimensional idea came to me after I messed up the original door and, in my irritated state, cut it out of the wall.  The yellow wall came after layer upon layer, mostly wet washes, to create a mottled effect. The original photo is below and I believe was taken in Dijon, France.

20141223_134246059_iOS

I love to hear from you

